Fighting A Marijuana Possession Charge

For many college students, smoking marijuana recreationally is just part of the college experience. While some states have now decriminalized marijuana and allow individuals to have a small amount in possession for personal use, Pennsylvania is not one of those states.

At Decker Bradburn, Attorneys at Law, in State College, we understand the gravity of the situation if you or your child is a college student facing a marijuana charge. We take the charge as seriously as you do, and we will work hard to get the best result.

A permanent criminal record will substantially impact a college student's opportunities in life. Contact our defense lawyers to fight a marijuana possession charge.

Pennsylvania's Marijuana Laws And Penalties

In Pennsylvania, possession of 30 grams of marijuana or less is a misdemeanor and can result in a 30-day jail sentence and a $500 fine. If a person has more than 30 grams, the penalties increase to one year incarceration and $5,000 in fines. Larger amounts of marijuana can result in felony charges due to intent to sell or distribute, and the penalties are even steeper. Drug paraphernalia charges are also serious and can carry a jail sentence up to two years and up to $5,000 in fines.

Why You Need A Strong Defense Attorney

Conviction of any drug possession charge will follow a college student and cause problems as he or she is just starting out in life. Our lawyers are dedicated to preventing a conviction and helping young people avoid the collateral consequences. By keeping his or her criminal record clear, a student will have many more opportunities in areas such as employment, housing and graduate school admissions.

Act Now To Protect Your Future

When your future is on the line, turn to Decker Bradburn, Attorneys at Law. Call 814-470-8023 or contact the firm online to arrange a consultation. We are available 24/7, and we will immediately take action to protect your rights.