All states in the nation have strict laws against drunk driving. However, different states have slightly different requirements, so it is important to understand what specifically applies to Pennsylvania.
All states have some variety of ignition interlock laws. According to the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation, repeated DUI offenders, those who refuse chemical testing, or those who have a very high blood alcohol level on their first offense must install ignition interlock devices in their vehicles.
What is an ignition interlock device?
Once a third-party company installs an ignition interlock device in your car, it acts as a breathalyzer. When you want to start your car, you will need to breathe into the ignition interlock device. The device will detect if you have any alcohol on your breath. If you do, the car will not start. Once you have started the car, you will need to breathe into the ignition interlock device at set intervals to prove that you have not consumed alcohol since you turned on the car.
You will need to lease an ignition interlock device from the aforementioned 3rd party. The costs for this vary, but they typically range between $900 to $1,300 per year. You are responsible for all costs associated with obtaining an ignition interlock device.
What else do I need to know?
Installing the ignition interlock device is only the first step. The ignition interlock device will need maintenance on a regular basis, and you must bring the vehicle to a third-party for this maintenance. If you tamper with the ignition interlock device or remove it, you will lose your driving privileges.
When Your Future Is On The Line, Turn To Us