When Your Future Is On The Line, Turn To Us

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Criminal Defense
  4.  » Criminal Trespass

Fighting Criminal Trespass Charges

Entering and remaining on someone else’s property, whether accidentally or purposefully, can lead to criminal charges and legal consequences in Pennsylvania. For college students especially, any kind of criminal conviction can have lasting impacts on their future. Regardless of whether the trespass occurred on school grounds, on someone’s private property or in a commercial building, you need an experienced criminal defense attorney on your side.

With over 40 years of combined experience, our attorneys at Decker Bradburn, Attorneys at Law, in State College assist clients with every stage of criminal proceedings. From the initial investigation to the filing of charges and representing you in court, you can rely on us to be there for you every step of the way.

Pennsylvania Takes Criminal Trespass Charges Seriously

Criminal trespass can happen in a variety of ways. From visiting someone unannounced, refusing to leave after being told or forcefully entering someone’s home, Pennsylvania includes a wide range of scenarios in a criminal trespass charge.

A defiant trespasser is one who remains on a property after being told to leave through verbal notification, communication from law enforcement, fencing or posted signage. In most cases, a defiant trespasser is charged with a third-degree misdemeanor. However, if a government, law enforcement or school official provided the warning, the charge may increase to a first-degree misdemeanor. A simple trespasser is an unauthorized person who remains on a property to deface or damage the property, starting or causing a fire or threatening and terrorizing the owner or occupant of the property.

The penalties for criminal trespass in Pennsylvania depend on your case’s circumstances and the crime’s severity. Depending on your case, you could face anywhere from 90 days in jail and a $250 fine for a third-degree misdemeanor to ten years in prison and a $25,000 fine for a second-degree felony. If you are a college student, you may face additional penalties at your college or university. At Decker Bradburn, Attorneys at Law, our attorneys can represent you in disciplinary hearings to help protect your future.

Let Us Fight For You

If you face a criminal trespass charge, you need to contact an attorney as soon as possible to get started on your defense. Call us today to schedule a free consultation at 814-470-8023 or complete our online contact form to get in touch.